Irregular People

The real “it is well” is something I say from the ground, having fallen. ~Antonio Porchia
 

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

Ephesians 4:29 NIV

 
     So hard.  I tried this recently with a colleague.  The conversation doesn’t matter as much as the fact that no matter what compliment I attempted to tell this person in truth, they turned it around.  Again and again over years of working together, it is a rare moment when the conversation doesn’t turn adversarial.  I don’t get it, but I have begun to just say “Good morning.” Instead of anything else I might say.  
     When I comply with a request related to my job, I get a lecture. When I ask a question, I get nothing that I expect, even when I am expecting the usual.  
     I don’t know which wise woman gave me the book Irregular People by Joyce Landorf Heatherley, but I wish I had committed it to memory.  These folks are everywhere and vary for each person you (or I ) might encounter.  I pray for these folks, and often avoid anything other than responding to a question or remembering that they are God’s creation and loving that part.
    Remember to keep on building one another up.  I’d love to hear how you deal with the irregular people in your lives.  HELP!
 
Lord, help me to use your words to build up the irregular people in my life. Show me the way.
 
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

