Tell Your Heart to Beat Again

The reluctance to put away childish things may be a requirement of genius.
                                     ~Rebecca Pepper Sinkler
 
What a God we have! And how fortunate we are to have him, this Father of our Master Jesus! Because Jesus was raised from the dead, we’ve been given a brand-new life and have everything to live for, including a future in heaven—and the future starts now! God is keeping careful watch over us and the future. The Day is coming when you’ll have it all—life healed and whole.
 
                                       ~ 1 Peter 1:3-5
 
     There is a situation in my life that has got me discouraged.  It has more to do with my response to a situation than anything else.  I have spent too much time beating myself up over it and then I heard a sermon.  A sermon that gave me the hope for a healing that I cannot fathom on any level.  A sermon that has me praying for all involved in the hope of a scripture long ago learned; a sermon that lifted me up in “such a time as this.” A sermon that reminded me of the little mustard seed pin I received when I received my first communion in church.
 
     Whatever it is that has you stuck, God is in it.  The seed of hope has long been placed in your heart.  I was driving to church yesterday and this song came on.  The first line dislodged discouragement and hope began to grow once more. The line that starts with “Beginning, just let that word wash over you,” soothed my spiritual gut which had been punched so hard it knocked the wind out of me.
      “Your story’s far from over, and your new life’s just begun.”
 
     Keep praying for those who have hurt you, used you, vexed you or made you angry.  They will not change, but we will.  Watch hope spring up through the crack in the sidewalk.
“Love sees farther than you ever could, in this moment heaven’s working everything for your good.”
 
     Because of Him,
     Linda
 
Tell Your Heart to Beat Again
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

