Tumult

You, God, are my God,
    earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
    my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
    where there is no water
.
                                                     ~ Psalm 63:1
                                   
 
A beauty lights the fading year. 
 
                                                   ~ Phebe A. Holder, “A Song of October”
 
     Last night I dreamed that I was looking for a lost page of a poem, in a raging storm, in a haunted house.  Only the house was this one, the storm was in Florida and I had just a few hours to hand in the second page of a poem that I lost in the disheveled classroom, that and – read the day’s New York Times, write a new poem and have it all done by class time.  I was so far behind.  My parents were both alive and trying to help but I could not see them, I could only hear them.  The house cried out in its own way there was so much water.
     Reality?  There is a hurricane battering the coast of Florida,  I have a deadline for a poem, and the subject is Haunted Houses.  I sat through a day long class in how to adapt education for special needs children.  The terms describe things I know, but, as with many things, people have changed the terms I know into new terms that are not necessarily better.  I left there to work out, come home, visit a friend, eat and go to choir rehearsal.  So much tumult in my brain!  Certainly I was not feeling parched, I was feeling flooded, especially after I watched the weather!
     However, there was only one place I could repair.  That was to the rock in a weary land.  Certainly after all of that, I was the weary land.  This anthem started to pulse through me when I woke up from that dream this morning.
Jesus is a Rock in a Weary Land, a Shelter in a Time of Storm.
 
     No matter where you live, what storm you are weathering, in Jesus, you live and move and have your being.  He is the rock and you can be sheltered there, in fact, you are.  Find that place inside of you, and find that place in which you are inside, Jesus.  Stay there until you know you can find your way back in the midst of all the storms.
    Lord, you know my storms, my deadlines, my tumult.  You know what haunts me and where I need to be.  Help me to always be in You no matter what else calls.  In the name of Jesus, Amen.
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

