Baby, baby

A baby dances with its feet in the air 

                          ~Ruth Krauss (1901–1993), Open House for Butterflies, 1960
 
Soak me in your laundry and I’ll come out clean,
    scrub me and I’ll have a snow-white life.
Tune me in to foot-tapping songs,
    set these once-broken bones to dancing.
Don’t look too close for blemishes,
    give me a clean bill of health.
God, make a fresh start in me,
    shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.
Don’t throw me out with the trash,
    or fail to breathe holiness in me.
Bring me back from gray exile,
    put a fresh wind in my sails!
Give me a job teaching rebels your ways
    so the lost can find their way home.
Commute my death sentence, God, my salvation God,
    and I’ll sing anthems to your life-giving ways.
Unbutton my lips, dear God;
    I’ll let loose with your praise.
~ Psalm 51:1-12
 
I read this psalm and thought, “Amen!” No matter what week you are having, this is a good prayer.
I am Your Child – Barry Manilow
 
Lord, make this psalm my goal.  Thank you for the journey.  Help me to stay on the paths that you set. And hold me up that I may dance!
In Jesus’ name, 
Amen
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

