I Smile

If you want children to keep their feet on the ground, put some responsibility on their shoulders. 
                                                      ~Abigail Van Buren
 
 Only God can write such a letter. His letter authorizes us to help carry out this new plan of action. The plan wasn’t written out with ink on paper, with pages and pages of legal footnotes, killing your spirit. It’s written with Spirit on spirit, his life on our lives!
                                                      ~ 2 Corinthians 3:6
 
     I had a student the other day who could barely keep her head up.  As the class was settling in at their tables, I heard a couple of her classmates encouraging her to go to the nurse. Repeatedly she said, “I’m fine, no thanks.” and “No, I’m good.”
     Her hair was a little limp, her eyes were glassy, she managed a smile.  One of the kids said, “She just doesn’t want to miss any Library! That’s why she’s here.”
     I looked over at her and sure enough, she managed a large smile, and held on because she wanted to be there, and she didn’t want to miss anything.
     This little girl has such a passion for learning! She came in the next morning, a little late, but sure that she wanted to be there and not miss a thing.  I saw her moving down the hall with determination to begin a new day of learning.
     What a witness!  What a way to show others what it means, to live your passion for learning. This student and her sister are also members of the church I belong to and they are just as loving and kind. They go out of their way to greet me, to see how my day is going, to add a positive no matter what the occasion.
     How like them I want to be!  What a reminder of what life in Christ truly is.  Today, share your enthusiasm with someone, with several, with all!  
 
Lord, give me your smile, your direction, your kindness, your enthusiasm for loving others.
I Smile – Kirk Franklin
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

