Open the Eyes of My Heart Lord

You can clutch the past so tightly to your chest that it leaves your arms too full to embrace the present. 
                                                    ~Jan Glidewell
 
 Open my eyes to see wonderful things in your Word.
                                                    ~ Psalm 119:18
 
Hillsong
 
     When I first got married, I was so concerned that my mother in law would judge me because of my first marriage (abusive in every way.)   One day, over coffee, she told me of her first marriage and how her heart was broken and that she then had a child to care for on her own.  She told me of the love she came to know with my father in law, how in their commuting, she found him to be quiet, but pleasant and more importantly, he got to know her.
      He saw her with her son, and just loved the way she was with him. (She was mortified at not being in pristine condition as, apparently, she was bathing her son and was a mess!)  He saw his future there.
She learned to trust again, and they married. Dad adopted her son, and the rest is an amazing story of traveling and sound effects and smart kids.
     She opened herself to something new.  She also accepted that I was doing the same.  It became one of our strongest bonds and God built on that.  It is not to say that we did not have some stormy times between us, however, she helped me to learn how to fight, stand up for myself, my family, and do it in a healthy way.
     Today, open yourself to something new, let the Lord guide you through it.  You will learn something wonderful about yourself and the love of God.
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational

Leave a Reply

