The Pin, and He Has Made Me Glad

Thanksgiving was never meant to be shut up in a single day. 

 
                                             ~Robert Caspar Lintner
 

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.

For the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.

~ Psalm 100:4, 5

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MIr_iec2nQ

He Has Made Me Glad

     My daughters are wonderful women.  I had the opportunity to spend many hours in a car with one of them the other day.  The discussion turned to the recent plea from many to wear a pin, identifying them as a safe person, or an upstander for those in danger.

      I argued that my friends should know that I am a safe haven.  I even offered that I stopped wearing a cross because I had hoped that my behavior would stand as witness.  She brought out the obvious, “Mom, people that know you already know.  The idea of the pin is for strangers to know that they are safe with you.”

     I am so thankful for my daughter, who often provides perspective at which I would probably not arrive.  This made me glad for all the perspectives she has helped me to see.  I was raised to be tolerant, understanding, loving, accepting of all nations and peoples…as I have mentioned before, exposure was another thing all together.  It came later and continues to come.

     Today, I just ask you to lift someone up who has helped you to see a new path, a new way of looking at things, a new perspective.

      I will rejoice, because He has made me glad!

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

