His Loving-kindness

Small tongues gossip and large ears magnify.

~James Lendall Basford

 Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his loving-kindness continues forever.

 Oh, give thanks to the God of heaven, for his loving-kindness continues forever.

~ Psalm 136:1, 26

Do these scriptures seem repetitious?  What I get is that God’s loving-kindness endures forever.  I am a recipient.  Therefore, everyday is Thanksgiving Day!

As I explore the different facets of friendship, and the relationships that are passing into and around my life, I must always be mindful that God’s loving-kindness must be my own.  I must remember that my dear husband tells me that some relationships are ministries and some are truly friendships. He reminds me to be aware at each encounter and act accordingly.

This happened oh so long ago, when I was dating a guy who told me that he was on a program.  I thought, “Gee, I am on a Weight Watchers program, we have something in common.”  I did not understand what methadone was, or why one needed it, until I dated him.  I got all the way up to two weeks before the wedding before I realized that the object of the game for him was a $2000.00 gift he was promised by his folks.  I was the ticket to that money.

In the beginning, I would go to his less than optimal apartment with a friend, we would bring this guy food, and minister to his spirit.  But I allowed myself to blur the lines and nearly ended up married to him.

Several months after the break-up, he was found with his new girlfriend, victims of carbon monoxide poisoning and dead in his father’s garage.

I am thankful for the intervention of friends, the sleepless nights that led me to the right decision, the heartbreak for his family afterwards.

God. Will. Provide.  A good friend, the right mate, the answer to your prayer or prayers.  Praise God in your present condition, prepare your heart to receive and for the wisdom and discernment to recognize ministry from relationship.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

