Repent?

Wisdom is not what you know but how quickly you adjust when the opposite proves true. 

                                         ~Robert Brault

 

 …so he explained it to them.
 
“I am the Gate for the sheep,” he said.
“Yes, I am the Gate. Those who come in by way of the Gate will be saved and will go in and out and find green pastures. 10 The thief’s purpose is to steal, kill and destroy. My purpose is to give life in all its fullness.”
                                          ~ John 10:7, 9-10
 
     So amidst this always different holiday season, I find myself needing a cleansing.  Of all my old thoughts, old ways of looking at relationships, pain that I have been tending like little sheep.  And sure enough, our Pastor makes a connection between the purple in the candles harkening back to repentance and an “unwelcome guest”at the Christmas party.  
     Good ol’ cousin John the Baptist.  The “repent” scripture was in the lectionary and discuss cleansing we did.  Immediately after service, I encountered someone with whom I had years of experience.  I heard an exchange that she had with another member of the congregation and thought, “Wow, all that acid you have been sharing is rooted in jealousy.”
    Which of course made me look inward.  I have lots to look at again. And the perfect season to remember that my sins will be made white as snow, as long as I shovel them toward Jesus.
 
Mercy Me – All of Creation
 
     Because of Him,
      Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

