Corrections?

Be pleasant until ten o’clock in the morning and the rest of the day will take care of itself. 
                        ~Elbert Hubbard
 
“I am the Good Shepherd and know my own sheep, and they know me, just as my Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep.
                ~ John 10:14-15
 
     I have noticed an increase in being corrected.  During library class.  By my students…of any age.  In many cases, I begin a sentence, and cannot even get to the comma before I am interrupted, the young one too impatient to wait, or not able.
     I can remember being the student, in the 7th grade, sitting at the end of a row of “good readers,” waiting my turn, keeping track of EVERY mistake they made.  Why?  I wanted to be the FIRST in that row.  I thought if I kept track of the “good” student’s mistakes, I could advance myself.
     Let’s move that forward, a few decades.  Meals at my in-laws, where even the time was a debate, let alone the English used in describing whatever came next. Meals with friends whose spouses feel compelled to correct them over some minor detail.Pretty soon, folks dropped out of the conversation.  It escalated, there was no room to move on, but for me, perhaps move away.
     What was the point?  Personal advancement?  Sibling rivalry gone awry?  Being right? What happened was, the conversation stopped because it quickly escalated into something  more than the story being told.
      When my students correct me, I ask them if they appreciate being corrected, I ask if it was crucial for them, I ask them if they understood what I was trying to say.  In every case they did NOT like being corrected and they did understand.  They also knew I would ask, “Did you understand?”
 
      Gigi – I Remember it Well
 
     What was important here, was the looks in their eyes as they spoke and what they took with them.  There was no national security issue, to Regents paper due, just a conversation between two former sweethearts who still held some regard for one another.
     What atmosphere do you want at your table?  How do handle corrections?  Please feel free to share.  
      Young ones all over are waiting for the answer, and a few young at heart only.
    Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

