Sing Out Louise!

God’s readiness to give and forgive is now public. Salvation’s available for everyone! We’re being shown how to turn our backs on a godless, indulgent life, and how to take on a God-filled, God-honoring life. This new life is starting right now, and is whetting our appetites for the glorious day when our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, appears. He offered himself as a sacrifice to free us from a dark, rebellious life into this good, pure life, making us a people he can be proud of, energetic in goodness.

 
Titus 2:11-12
 
     Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love! 
 
     ~Hamilton Wright Mabie
 
     I had the joy of having my faith renewed in a time of rich Contemporary Christian Music.  I had left the church of my family and struck out seeking acceptance somewhere new. The people I met during that time period changed my life.  
     In the cleaning that occurred over the holidays, I unearthed some old cassette tapes of Christian artists Kathy Troccoli and Margaret Becker.  They were friends, and traveled around the churches of Long Island singing together.  They used to say, their hearts were knit by God.  They were so much more than that.  Their music was anointed.  As I listened to them remind me that my sin, given to God is now as far is the east is from the west, I wept anew.  As I listened to Margaret remind me that I needed to make room in my heart for the Carpenter King,  I rejoiced that the message was just as fresh now as when she wrote and sang it. 
     Every note was sung with love and conviction.  Every introduction was honest, and related to us in the audience.  Every song was edifying.
     As we enter into this new year, still in the season of Christmas, I entreat you to find a piece of music that you can sing to God (even if it is in your head), and sing it out.  For that period of time, trust the Lord. At the end, you will have trusted God for a good three minutes or so.  Sing it again.  Repeat as often as necessary. In this way, as you approach old fears, new adventures, you go in singing and trusting the Lord of all, and lifting all you meet to God, trusting God to take care of them, and building your own faith as you sing.
     As my choir director and his wife often say, “Sing out Louise!”  I say sing out and build your trust in God. It works.  My original trust building song was “Power in the Blood.”
Shirley Ceasar – There’s Power in the Blood
 
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

