No Matter What

Trust yourself. You know more than you think you do. 
                                                                            ~Benjamin Spock
 
If you don’t know what you’re doing, pray to the Father. He loves to help. You’ll get his help, and won’t be condescended to when you ask for it. Ask boldly, believingly, without a second thought. People who “worry their prayers” are like wind-whipped waves. Don’t think you’re going to get anything from the Master that way, adrift at sea, keeping all your options open.
                                                      ~ James 1:5-6
 
     There has been a lot of activity in the United States this week; a Presidential Inauguration, a Women’s March on Washington, and one wonderful, life giving sermon.  The first two things added a lot of anxiety to my life.  Do not suppose to know why, just know that I am a very sensitive person, and often feel what is going on before words ever leave people’s lips.
     Two weeks ago it was an anthem that the choir sang.  Creation Will be at Peace. 
     As we sang this peaceful, richly worded piece, the actual vision of creation being at peace hit me like a tidal wave.  The Spirit of the Lord moved in me, and of course, my tear ducts overflowed.  I was so happy to  be in “worship” mode.  
     It’s no surprise when I cry as I sing, it just happens.  But after church, two women approached me in the choir loft. One knew exactly what had moved me, the other presumed it was political.  I tried to explain, but nothing helped.  So I just said thank you and kept going about my business.  As I arrived in the Pastor’s office,  I began to share just the peaceful realization part, when someone walked into the office and also presumed to know what was motivating my tears.  It was easier to leave.  And our Pastor had a meeting to get to.
     This week with the two events just at our backs, and an entirely different lectionary, our anthem was Walk in the Light arranged by Andre Thomas.  We sounded a lot like this:
 ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzeOE4yNRR0) (I think actually we were a lot cleaner.)  
But in my head, we sounded more like this:( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNaKjULjoOM ).  Needless to say, I was “having church”.  It was so uplifting, and then, the sermon.  The sermon where I heard that administrations come and go, and no matter whether my hands were raised in victory or my fist pumping in anger, God remains on the throne.  
      For the first time in my memory, I heard a sermon that spoke to reality.  God’s reality.  The same reality that moved me in visualizing creation being at peace, moved me through the walk in the light. God is on the throne. I was so thankful for our pastor and her ear toward God.
     We must pray for our leaders, whether we voted for them or not, whether we believe them or not, whether we agree with them or not. All power comes from God and we must respect those in the position, respecting the position before or in spite of the person.
 
    Lord, help me to lift up our leaders no matter what, and those with whom I disagree, because you are on the throne. Help them to walk in the light, that creation may someday be at peace.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

