The Sun Going Down on Anger

My dear, don’t let the sun go down upon your anger; forgive each other, help each other, and begin again to‑morrow. ~Louisa May Alcott, Little Women, “Jo Meets Apollyon,” 1868

 
For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.
2 Tim 1:7 (KJV)
 
     For the past few months, although I did not identify it well, anger has been building in me and the stress and fear were its close companions making a very unholy trinity.  It started last summer and like good fly paper, picked other things up as it hung there.   My left eye had begun to twitch, involuntarily, at the oddest moments.  Between church, work and home so many things contributed to this twitch and my anger was kindled so very simply.
     My husband and I took a trip to South Carolina.  We walked on the beach every morning but one, for about an hour.  We held hands and walked, let the surf tease us, and oh the glorious perpetual date we were on!  Good walks, good food, good conversation. We had a precious visit from a friend while we were there, a friend, who went out of her way to be with us. We had a difficult conversation and recognized that we both saw the solution to so many of our nation’s challenges right now is to focus on the one who holds all authority, all power, all control. After so many months, my eye did not twitch for 8 days!
     I came out of “hiding” and let the breeze blow the sands of anger across the beach, absorbed by the outgoing tide.  
     My husband and I talked and planned and laughed like newlyweds and God gets all the glory.  The Lord’s love poured through my husband and I received it.
      Too many suns went down on the anger that had been building up, and my vision was clouded, it affected everything around me.  I am so happy to say that God truly restored my soul by the waters of the Atlantic, which were quite still where we were.
        I am praying for you, dear reader, that God will keep your eye on God, that your steps are strong and confident, that your heart will be troubled no more.  That you can let it go. In the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost, 
Amen
 
Let it Go – The Newsboys
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

