Lovely Poems

Nature composes some of her loveliest poems for the microscope and the telescope. 
                                                   ~ Theodore Roszak
 
“But blessed is the man who trusts me, God,
    the woman who sticks with God.
They’re like trees replanted in Eden,
    putting down roots near the rivers—
Never a worry through the hottest of summers,
    never dropping a leaf,
Serene and calm through droughts,
    bearing fresh fruit every season.
                                                  ~  Jeremiah 17:7-8
 
     God has been my refuge and my strength. For about three months, I was at saturation level with the acid in the air everywhere I went. Loving friends and family told me to essentially, “be the duck,” and let things roll off my back.  I just could not manage it.  My spirit was aggrieved and I could not articulate anything that was interpreted any other way but in a political context.
     I was at a delightful tea party this past weekend with some of the women of the church. We signed up for it in support of our women’s organization. The setting was classic, the table was appointed beautifully.  One of my daughters was with me and at some point during tea, when I spokeabout how I was doing, she flipped the conversation to  what I was doing and began to list my accomplishments and those to come.  I could not understand why, but after a fashion, the mood lightened.
     When we got together later in the week, she told me that I sat up straighter and things were lighter.  The things she spoke of were not things I would have said about myself, but when I heard them from my daughter’s mouth, I felt chosen and special.  So easy to forget when the air is thick.
     Yesterday, I noticed the yellow of a daffodil straining against the stem waiting to pop out.  Yes, some of the loveliest poems are nature’s. I feel as if my joy is tied to the daffodil’s blooming.   Today, look around you, find the poem under your nose, or within your vision.  
Lord, help me to let go and let You lift my chin, my heart, my head.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

