Clean

“If your actions create a legacy that inspires others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more, then you are an excellent leader.” 
                                                     ~ Dolly Parton
 

Death swallowed by triumphant Life!
Who got the last word, oh, Death?
Oh, Death, who’s afraid of you now?

It was sin that made death so frightening and law-code guilt that gave sin its leverage, its destructive power. But now in a single victorious stroke of Life, all three—sin, guilt, death—are gone, the gift of our Master, Jesus Christ. Thank God!

                                                   ~ 1 Corinthians 15:55-57

     When you point a finger at someone, there are always four fingers pointing right back at you.  And that was last summer.  My mother in law passed away.  Everything following that event was complicated.  Words were said, actions were taken.  The ones that  bother me the most were my own.  A side of me came out that was living under a rock.  I cannot erase those images from my mind.  My heart was hard, my feelings were as unraveled as a skein of yarn after cats have played with it.

     So many hurts, so many wounds.  I wanted to be mature, wise, even helpful.  But what I saw and demonstrated was anger, hurt, stressed out, unhelpful. I asked the Lord for forgiveness, I wrote notes to folks thanking them for kind things that they did in the face of my emotional breakdown.  But I cold not receive the forgivness.

     I heard this song by Natalie Grant, “Clean.” 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAQQFB7btbc

     The healing has begun, I don’t know if the others have forgiven me, but I have begun to forgive myself, and allowed the love of God to wash over all of that complicated stuff.

     I have a pastor friend, the Reverend Tom Castlen, who makes the following phrase a part of each benediction he pronounces at the end of a church service. “And remember, be good to yourselves at least once a day.”

      And so say I to you.  Let these lyrics wash you in mercy. Take a bubble bath in them!

     Because of Him,

     Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

