George Lassos the Moon

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration. I don’t think you can go wrong.” 
                                                                    ~ Ella Fitzgerald
 
     This mystery has been kept in the dark for a long time, but now it’s out in the open. God wanted everyone, not just Jews, to know this rich and glorious secret inside and out, regardless of their background, regardless of their religious standing. The mystery in a nutshell is just this: Christ is in you, so therefore you can look forward to sharing in God’s glory. It’s that simple. That is the substance of our Message. We preach Christ, warning people not to add to the Message. We teach in a spirit of profound common sense so that we can bring each person to maturity. To be mature is to be basic. Christ! No more, no less. That’s what I’m working so hard at day after day, year after year, doing my best with the energy God so generously gives me.
                                                                      ~ Colossians 1:27-29
 
     I recently had the experience of addressing a college class called “Contemporary Poetry.”  I was invited by my beloved professor, to talk about my first book.  Praying before I got there was a priority.  To tell you the truth, I was a little scared.  
     I was advised that the students were not sure about the religious content of some of the poems.  When I read for them, I purposely choose poems that did not fall into that category. After I read, the questions that they asked brought those poems and the stories behind them into play.
     When asked about why my poems had such heavy God content, I asked them if they had seen the movie, It’s a Wonderful Life. Instantly there were smiles and recognition.  I recalled the following scene:
George Lassos the Moon
     Then I told them, that for me, Jesus was like the moon, and I wanted the love that I had for him to come shooting out my fingers and toes and the ends of my hair.
      They asked about why I “reported” scripture a certain way, and I let them know about several different versions of the Bible that were written at different times, in different English, but all with the same message.
     All in all, they asked great questions, and I did my best to answer those and the ones about poetry the best that I could.  I would not call my poetry religious, I would call it my way of giving back some of the love I have received.
     Today, find a way to share what you love best, even in small doses. He lives in you!
 
Because of Him,
“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration. I don’t think you can go wrong.” 
                                                                    ~ Ella Fitzgerald
 
     This mystery has been kept in the dark for a long time, but now it’s out in the open. God wanted everyone, not just Jews, to know this rich and glorious secret inside and out, regardless of their background, regardless of their religious standing. The mystery in a nutshell is just this: Christ is in you, so therefore you can look forward to sharing in God’s glory. It’s that simple. That is the substance of our Message. We preach Christ, warning people not to add to the Message. We teach in a spirit of profound common sense so that we can bring each person to maturity. To be mature is to be basic. Christ! No more, no less. That’s what I’m working so hard at day after day, year after year, doing my best with the energy God so generously gives me.
                                                                      ~ Colossians 1:27-29
 
     I recently had the experience of addressing a college class called “Contemporary Poetry.”  I was invited by my beloved professor, to talk about my first book.  Praying before I got there was a priority.  To tell you the truth, I was a little scared.  
     I was advised that the students were not sure about the religious content of some of the poems.  When I read for them, I purposely choose poems that did not fall into that category. After I read, the questions that they asked brought those poems and the stories behind them into play.
     When asked about why my poems had such heavy God content, I asked them if they had seen the movie, It’s a Wonderful Life. Instantly there were smiles and recognition.  I recalled the following scene:
George Lassos the Moon
     Then I told them, that for me, Jesus was like the moon, and I wanted the love that I had for him to come shooting out my fingers and toes and the ends of my hair.
      They asked about why I “reported” scripture a certain way, and I let them know about several different versions of the Bible that were written at different times, in different English, but all with the same message.
     All in all, they asked great questions, and I did my best to answer those and the ones about poetry the best that I could.  I would not call my poetry religious, I would call it my way of giving back some of the love I have received.
     Today, find a way to share what you love best, even in small doses. He lives in you!
 
Because of Him,
Linda

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

