Broken Hallelujuah

“Every single moment is absolutely extraordinary. But the next day is a thousand times better.” 
                                          ~ Salvador Dali
 
Make a clean break with all cutting, backbiting, profane talk. Be gentle with one another, sensitive. Forgive one another as quickly and thoroughly as God in Christ forgave you.
                                          ~ Ephesians 4:32
 
     Yesterday had a couple of shining moments, and I allowed them to be swallowed by…a difficult family situation, a troubling phone call, some difficult words and their implications.
     In the music room, echoes of Leonard Cohen’s “Broken Hallelujah”
filtered under the door and I  wondered if the young voices knew just what that meant. And some of them do.  But Leonard’s words did not lift me, nor the young voices who barely understand the stories represented from the Bible.
     Yesterday, I felt somewhat more like the singers in the following Halleljuah:
             The Afters –  Broken Hallelujah
      The passing kindergarten parade, the company of my family lifted me after that school day. I know that joy awaits, that a blessing is around the corner.  It was hard to sing Hallelujah.  Even harder to let go of that which hurt.  But I will.  As the sun sings the green out of the leaves and opens the clenched buds, so will I sing my own broken Hallelujah.
 
Lord, as my tears dry, let my eyes rest upon you.  Help me to help others who are hurting, trying to pick up the pieces of their broken hallelujahs and offer them to You.
    Because of Him,
    Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

