Dancing on the Ceiling

Are you really sure that a floor can’t also be a ceiling? 
         ~M.C. Escher
 
So I answered, “I’m coming.
    I read in your letter what you wrote about me,
And I’m coming to the party
    you’re throwing for me.”
That’s when God’s Word entered my life,
    became part of my very being.

Psalm 40:7-8
 
     I heard K-Love’s morning show host Kelly, talking about struggling with an upcoming birthday.  She knew that logically there was no reason she should be upset about it, but she was.  
      I heard Lady Antebellum’s Hilary Scott speak of the inspiration behind “Thy Will Be Done.”  In an interview with WAY-FM afternoon show’s host, Hilary said, “I prayed about something in my life and it felt like God had answered that prayer and then the way in which it was answered looked a lot differently then I thought it would. So of course I was questioning and confused, all the while knowing that ultimately, even when we don’t understand, His will is what’s best…”
    So we pray a prayer, earnestly, sometimes repeatedly, and then are turned upside down by the answer.  We don’t have God’s perspective, only our own.  Hilary Scott expressed her raw heart to God.  It has not only changed the way she approaches her life, but it gives credence to all who are in that very raw place with a desire of their heart.
     Ultimately, “Thy will be done.” means “Lord, do what’s best, I trust you.”  Do you trust Him to show you how to dance on the ceiling, or take that leap, or let go completely?
     I have no pithy or cute answer here.  Just a series of links to lift your heart and help you to rest in God’s will.
 
You’re All the World To Me – Fred Astaire
 
Leap of Faith – Indiana Jones
Thy Will Be Done
 
     Lord, sometimes “this don’t look good,” but we know that your idea of what is best carries wisdom, and love at its core. Help us to embrace what ever challenge you have given us, help us to walk into that new age, which is an answer to prayers for wisdom that we prayed so long ago.  Give us peace Lord, and the courage to take that next step.
 
Because of Him,
Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a comment